A valid New Jersey fishing license is required for residents who are at least 16 years old and under 70 (in addition to all non-residents 16 years of age or older) to fish in New Jersey's freshwater, including privately owned waters. Resident fishermen age 70 or older do not require a fishing license or a stamp for trout. If you plan to fish in one of New Jersey's rich freshwaters, you need a fishing license. The good thing about fishing in a saltwater area in New Jersey is that you don't need to buy a fishing license.
This page is based on regulations published by the New Jersey Federal Fish and Wildlife Act and the Federal Recreational Fishing Regulations. To fish in New Jersey, anyone over the age of 16 must have a valid fishing license to fish in the state's freshwater, whether using a hand line, rod and line or a bow and arrow. The following table shows the seasonal minimum size and possession limits for marine fishing in New Jersey waters and in the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of New Jersey. Get fishing tips and tricks and read personal stories of fishermen who live and breathe fishing and boating.
The Division of Fish %26 Wildlife has a licensed agent locator application to make it easier to find an agent near you. It is better to understand the different species of fish to facilitate the application of existing fishing rules. As a general rule, all anglers who wish to fish or fish in New Jersey waters must purchase a fishing license from the state of New Jersey. There are several types of fishing licenses available to New Jersey residents and non-residents alike.
New Jersey has its own set of fishing laws and regulations that must be followed to protect its fish stocks. Free hunting and fishing licenses, stamps, and permits are available to resident veterans with a service-related disability. As mentioned earlier, if you want to fish in any freshwater fishing area throughout the state of New Jersey, you must purchase a fishing license. Before purchasing a fishing license, you need to understand that the different fishing licenses available, since fishing for freshwater and saltwater fish are two different things, with their own set of fishing rules and regulations.
A freshwater fishing license is required even if you are fishing in privately owned lakes or other waters. There are several convenient ways to purchase a fishing license in the state of New Jersey.